Quire Cleveland makes life more harmonious by introducing audiences to choral music not heard in the modern era — including modern premieres of works newly discovered or reconstructed — breathing life into the music of our shared heritage. Through the human voice, Quire provides a vital connection to distant lands and ages past, revealing the timeless universality of this art. Under the artistic direction of Ross W. Duffin, Quire performs 9 centuries of a cappella repertoire.

Review: Quire Cleveland: “Carols for Quire VIII” at Trinity Cathedral (December 2)

QuireTrinityMost choirs do well to take on one or two non-English languages in their programs. Quire Cleveland handily dispatched Christmas music from five centuries in Latin, Finnish, Latvian, Spanish (in several of its dialects), Wendat, Abenaki, Mohawk, and Afro-Portuguese in the eighth edition of “Carols for Quire” at Trinity Cathedral on Friday evening, December 2. Whatever the language, they sounded terrific. Read more »

Carols for Quire from the Old & New Worlds VIII

BonnDyptich.AngelsKick off the holiday season with this “cherished Cleveland tradition” in its 8th annual rendition — great choral singers united in presenting seasonal delights. Carols for Quire VIII explores exquisite choral music for Christmas from many lands and centuries. 

This year, along with many favorites from the past, highlights include a lively ensalada with popular Spanish Christmas songs, and a setting of the Christmas hymn Conditor alme siderum in the Mohawk Indian language, newly reconstructed by Quire’s Artistic Director, Ross Duffin.

Bring family & friends — under 18s are always free — to start the most harmonious of holiday seasons! Read more »

Preview: Quire Cleveland’s “Carols for Quire VIII” to feature
a multitude of languages

Fans of Quire Cleveland’s annual Carols for Quire performances know that the ensemble’s singers are adept at wrapping their tongues around any number of languages in the same program. But as co-founder and artistic director Ross W. Duffin notes, the forthcoming performances may well set a new record. In three performances next weekend, his nineteen professional vocalists will treat their audiences to carols in Finnish, Abenaki, Afro-Portuguese, Mohawk, and Wendat, as well as in English, Latin, and Spanish.  Read more »

England’s Phœnix: William Byrd

Recorded live in concert in May 2016


“William Byrd loved the sound of the human voice. He wrote in 1588 that “there is not any Musicke of Instruments whatsoever comparable to that which is made of the voyces of Men, where the voyces are good, and the same well sorted and ordered.” This CD offers a broad selection of Byrd’s vocal music: Latin and English, public and private, melancholy and joyful.”

— Kerry McCarthy, prize-winning biographer of William Byrd

England’s greatest Renaissance composer — a contemporary of Shakespeare — Byrd (ca.1540–1623) was a Catholic composer at a time when it was illegal in England. Yet he composed with apparent impunity, because of the esteem in which he was held by his contemporaries and by Queen Elizabeth I.

His sublime motets & anthems, nestled around the magisterial Mass for 5 Voices, will captivate & inspire you. 

For more information and/or to order your copy, click here.



  1. Sing joyfully 2:25 BL MS Add. 29372-7 (1616)
  2. Ne irascaris — Civitas sancti tui 8:15 Cantiones Sacræ I (1589)
  3. Kyrie eleison from the Mass for Five Voices 1:40 (c.1595)
  4. Venite exultemus 3:29 Gradualia II (1607)
  5. Exalt thyself, O God 5:03 Worcester Cathedral Library MS A 3.3
  6. Gloria from the Mass for Five Voices 5:42 (c.1595)
  7. Credo from the Mass for Five Voices 10:17 (c.1595)
  8. In resurrectione tua 1:53 Cantiones Sacræ I (1589)
  9. Tollite portas 2:32 Gradualia II (1607)
  10. Sanctus from the Mass for Five Voices 4:11 (c.1595)
  11. Hæc dicit Dominus 6:51 Cantiones Sacræ II (1591)
  12. Ave verum corpus 4:05 Gradualia I (1605)
  13. Agnus dei from the Mass for Five Voices 3:44 (c.1595)


Click on the links to view these pieces (and others) on Quire Cleveland’s YouTube channel.

You can download these tracks individually at CD Baby.